Guided Tour
Welcome to Travel Club Services
New TGCSA grading criteria

The Tourism Grading Council of South Africa has established new and revised grading standards for the country.

These have been approved by Minister of Tourism, Derek Hanekom and are now gazetted for implementation from 1 April.

The new criteria include the introduction of two new categories in the form of Apartment Hotels and Small Hotels in which the luxury boutique hotels will be encompassed.  

In addition, grading levels have been enhanced and will include a new Five-Star Premium grading level, which is a recognition reserved for the pinnacle of luxury product in South Africa, and will only be for those products that far exceed premium expectations with respect to quality standards and service excellence.

The TGCSA has also introduced a new dimension to grading which allows for properties to capitalise on niche market differentiation.

This new addition, termed ?accolades?, includes insignia and criteria for niche markets such as child-friendly, pet-friendly, wedding venues, spa and wellness facilities, 4?4 etc.

A full list of accolades will be available on the TGCSA website in the coming weeks.

Source: Business Traveller Africa

More news articles

Copyright © 2015 Travel Club Services. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions